BLOG – Jasiel Peter, India, violin

Looking out my window as we head back to Glasgow from Aberdeen, I find myself smiling. This for me is the best of two worlds – surrounded by musician friends in the bus, talking, laughing and singing, while passing through the picturesque Scottish countryside that I love so much.

Screen Shot 2014-08-01 at 09.55.17

The merriment has subsided now as dusk sets in and the bus lumbers on, and my mind wanders back over the whirlwind events of the past 10 days. Meeting the Indian Womens boxing team at Dubai airport, getting to know all the musicians at Scokendia Ensemble, the lovely rooms at Liberty House, walks to the Conservatoire for rehearsals, learning some cool ceilidh dance moves, and… oh yes, not to forget the concerts.

Every day has been full of activity! Glasgow has such a festive atmosphere; what a great time for us to be here! Glasgow Botanical Garden was absolutely beautiful with its varieties of cacti and tropical plants – reminded me so much of the Lalbagh Botanical garden in Bangalore. The weather has been perfect for walking. Clive and I visited some music shops and the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum. We were lucky to witness a short flash mob by an orchestra there! There were plenty of street performers too.

The one event that I will always treasure was the one at Oran Street Day Centre. The smiles of the folks there as they listened and enjoyed our music was truly rewarding! Thanks a tonne to Nicole for accompanying me on the piano.

The evening that our orchestra did a little street performance in front of the Royal Concert Hall was such awesome fun! The huge crowd that gathered around us were initially curious and then, very appreciative. Sure made my day.

Another unforgettable event was the performance at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland. The audience truly loved it and got to know our nationalities when we changed from regular concert wear to our traditional clothes in the second half. It was a joy and privilege to play under the baton of Maestro Eoin Tonner.

Screen Shot 2014-08-01 at 09.55.30

Cherishing moments: Watching two hockey games at Glasgow was a real bonus. The first game was Australia vs. Wales, the second game was India vs. Scotland, and India won!!!! I was privileged to be the flag bearer at the Aberdeen International Youth Festival. Indeed, a proud moment for me and INYO!

In Aberdeen, the granite city (all the buildings are so grey), we had two great concerts in two churches as part of the Aberdeen International Youth Festival. It was wonderful to visit the Mark Bush Court nursing home and play music for them. And the beach at Aberdeen… ahh, it was so beautiful, none of us wanted to leave!!

The food has been great. Bread and cheese for breaky, burgers and hot dogs at the supermarket, yummy pizzas, …the works.

Though it’s been just ten days, we are sounding like a well knit team that has been together for a long time. It is amazing how we have come together from far to share our gifts of music. I guess this is the spirit of Commonwealth. For this enriching experience I thank the organizers, Jamie Munn, my music friends from Kenya, Scotland and India and, of course the India National Youth Orchestra headed by Sonia Khan. A big thank you to Francis Cummings for the masterclass and Susannah Stout for her fantastic piano accompaniment during the masterclass.

One of the coolest things I came across is the Scottish accent (or should I say language!) I had my first taste of this when a few of us went oot (out) exploring in Glasgow. I must say that I will be sad to leave my friends and all this behind in a few days as I head back to India. But hey! I’m not thinking too far ahead, ‘Ay muust be aaf now for a swally…. commin anywoon?’