BLOG – Calum Huggan, Scotland, percussion

Scokendia has been a treat! From our initial welcome, to the rehearsal process and now concerts, I feel as though the ensemble has matured fast in a short space of time. The three new commissions are very different from each other and I think represent each country very well. With all the background stories explained, I’ve found it very interesting to see how each composer has interpreted certain messages in their music.  

The more traditional works have been such fun to perform. I think the audiences have enjoyed the ‘party’/ ‘dance’ aspect to these.  It’s also been great jamming with my ‘Indian percussion brother’, Tarun in these pieces. His grooves are sick!!

Screen Shot 2014-08-01 at 18.46.06

The ensemble as a whole have been amazing. It’s been fabulous getting to know everyone and all about their lives at home.  I have a good feeling many connections have been made and future projects will be waiting round the corner. I’d like to thank Live Music Now! Scotland, Carol Main and Jamie Munn for asking me to be part of this project. It’s been just fab!